Better Life?
Aktuell2020DokumentartheaterPerformance

Better Life? ist ein Dokumentartheaterstück, das auf denselben Recherchen beruht wie Home Away from Home. In einer zweijährigen Interview-Reise haben Fang Yun Lo und die Künstler:innen Ngo Thanh Phuong und Cheng Ting Chen über 100 Menschen aus der vietnamsisch-stämmigen Gemeinschaft in Deutschland und Taiwan interviewt.
Aus den Gesprächen zu Begriffen wie Heimat, Identität oder Familie entwickelten sich berührende Miniaturen, die die Publikum auf einem Rundgang über die Bühne erleben können. Im Gegensatz zu Home Away from Home stehen in Better Life? ausschließlich Darsteller:innen aus Taiwan auf der Bühne.

Better Life? entstand als Auftragsarbeit für das Iron Rose Festival in Taoyuan. 2021 wurde Better Life? unter mehreren hundert Vorschlägen für die Shortlist des renommierten Taishin Arts Prizes Taiwan nominiert, den höchstdotierten Kunstpreis Taiwans.

Better Life? hat es geschafft, die Individualität der vier Darsteller zu zeigen, ihnen Raum für den freien Austausch von Erinnerungen zu geben und die vier Geschichten durch ein klares Design zu einer einzigen Erzählung zusammenzufügen - ein Gesamtkunstwerk, das nachwirkt. Ein gutes Theaterstück kann sowohl die Realität berühren als auch die Herzen des Publikums öffnen. Better Life? ist ein solches Stück.
Wei Wan Rong, Taishin Artalks, 30. Sept. 2020

Team

Informationen

Termine

SpacerSpacer

Better Life?
Ongoing2020documentary theatreperformance

Better Life? is a documentary theatre piece based on the same research as Home Away from Home. In a two-year interview journey, Fang Yun Lo and the artists Ngo Thanh Phuong and Cheng Ting Chen interviewed over 100 people from the Vietnamese community in Germany and Taiwan.
The conversations about concepts such as home, identity or family developed into touching miniatures that the audience can experience on a tour of the stage. In contrast to Home Away from Home, Better Life? is performed exclusively by 4 Vietnamese immigrants living in Taiwan.

Better Life? was commissioned for the Iron Rose Festival in Taoyuan. In 2021, Better Life? was nominated from among several hundred proposals for the shortlist of the renowned Taishin Arts Prizes Taiwan, the most highly endowed art prize in Taiwan.

Better Life? has done a great job in showing the individuality of the four performers, giving them space to freely share memories and using a clear design to bring the four stories together into one narrative, a complete work that resonates. A good theatre piece can both touch reality and open the hearts of the audience. Better Life? Is such a piece.
Wei Wan Rong, Taishin Artalks

Team

Information

Performances

SpacerSpacer